About the Hope Begins Here Award

Founded in 2011, the Hope Begins Here Award is presented annually to an outstanding leader and advocate for cancer treatment and prevention on the North Shore. In conjunction with this award, Boston North Cancer Association presents a scholarship in honor of each year’s Hope Begins Here Award Honoree to a college-bound North Shore high school senior whose parent passed away from cancer or is undergoing treatment for cancer.


2023 Hope Begins Here Reception

The 2023 Hope Begins Here Awards Reception will be held Wednesday May 10, 2023 at Danversport, Danvers.

This year's ceremony will honor James McIntyre, MD, Chief, Radiation Oncology, Mass General/North Shore Cancer Center in Danvers in recognition of his deep commitment to patients diagnosed with cancer and their families throughout the communities north of Boston. Tickets and sponsorship opportunities are available now.

Please Note: Due to the medical conditions of some of our guests, COVID-19 vaccinations are required to attend.

Sponsorship Opportunities

$10,000 – Presenting Sponsor
$5,000 – Title Sponsor
$2,500 – Scholarship Sponsor
$1,200 – Treatment Sponsor
$600 – Education Sponsor
$350 – Event Patron
$70 – Event Ticket

Advertising Opportunities

Full-Page – $1,000
Half-Page – $500
Quarter-Page – $250
Tribute Listing – $100
Raffle Donation

Contact BNCA for additional information, or you can purchase tickets through either Paypal or Eventbrite using the appropriate link below.

Sponsorships/Tickets for Hope Begins Here Awards Reception
For Tribute Honor/Memory of

The Hope Begins Here Award past honorees

2020 - 2022 Hope Begins Here Honoree Lorraine Sacco

2020 - 2022 Lorraine Sacco

2019 Hope Begins Here Honoree Joel H. Schwartz, MD, FACP

2019 Joel H. Schwartz, MD, FACP

2018 Hope Begins Here Honoree David Solomine

2018 David Solomine, Sr.

2017 Hope Begins Here Honoree Noel DeFilippo, MD

2017 Noel DeFilippo, MD

2016 Hope Begins Here Honoree Rebecca Yang, MD

2016 Rebecca Yang, MD

2016 Hope Begins Here Honoree Andrea McKee, MD

2016 Andrea McKee, MD

2015 Hope Begins Here Honoree Diane T. Stringer

2015 Diane T. Stringer

2014 Hope Begins Here Honoree Herbert Leventhal, MD

2014 Herbert Leventhal, MD

2013 Hope Begins Here Honoree Karen J. Krag, MD

2013 Karen J. Krag, MD

2012 Hope Begins Here Honoree Donald M. Perlman, MD

2012 Donald M. Perlman, MD

2011 Hope Begins Here Honoree Ronald S. Weinger, MD

2011 Ronald S. Weinger, MD

Thanks to our 2021 Hope Begins Here Sponsors

Title Sponsors

Scholarship Sponsors

The Barbuzzi Family


Treatment Sponsors

The Bargoot Family
Justin and Melissa D’Aveta
Diane and Alan Edgett
Dr. and Mrs. Herbert Leventhal
Dr. Carmela Mancini and Tim Swigor
Mary Jane and David J. Solimine Sr.
Kendra and Dan St. John

Education Sponsors

The Caleb Group
Thomas Kingston, MD
Karen Krag, MD
Joan and Mark Mahoney
Susan and Kevin S. McCarthy, Esq.
OCL Family Charitable Foundation
Derek Sheckman Foundation